Taking stock

This week I was hoping to spend some time thinking about our food choices and looking into how we could improve how we shop and eat. However, I was ill over the weekend with a sickness bug that laid me low for 2 days and put me right off my food. I didn’t want to eat anything and I certainly didn’t fancy reading recipe books or trekking around the local shops, farmers market or supermarket. Yesterday I felt a bit better and reflected on being ill and changing my plans for the week had actually put me onto a more useful path.

There was no food in the house, or so I thought. On Tuesday a comforting bowl of plain pasta with a few fresh herbs helped to ease my stomach back into the wonderful world of food. Today I am almost back to my greedy self and Instead of doing my normal super-sized family weekly shop, I decided to be a bit more mindful. With my monthly Permaculture Principle of ‘Observe and Interact’ in mind, I decided to start by tackling the ‘there is nothing to eat’ feeling by looking at my cupboards and seeing what we actually have.

DSC_8293Citrus fruits to brighter a dull February day

I checked through my cupboards, pantry and freezer and wrote down what I found. I was going to record the entire list here, but it was an embarrassing amount of food. I am ashamed to admit quite how much we had in the house. Here are some of the highlights of what I found when I went shopping in my cupboards;

5 different types of rice, brown/ basmati / risotto /pudding /sushi

9 tins including beans/ tomatoes /chickpeas / kidney beans

5 boxes of cereal

3 loaves of bread

5 bags of different types of flour

Bags of mixed nuts/ seeds/ dried fruit

Frozen blueberries/ black and red currants/ raspberries/ plums

Vegi sausages/ burgers and two types of tofu

I could go on but I am feeling ashamed. So many people don’t have enough to eat and here we are, hording food without even being aware of it. Even as a family of five who can eat a whole bag of pasta at one sitting, I think we could comfortably survive on the rations in the house for about 2-3 weeks. Albeit eating some rather carb-heavy meals!

DSC_8294A fabulous loaf made by my clever Baker brother. He is involved in a new local bakery opening soon. The Tiny Bakery. More details to follow!

I am glad that I took the time to take stock before heading back out to the shops. I will try to make this a regular part of my week from now on. When I did go shopping today the only things I brought were fresh vegetables and fruit. My bags were lighter and my purse heavier!

Yesterday we had stir fry veg with tofu and rice followed by homemade plum crumble (Using lovely plums, red currents and blackberries from our garden that I had frozen and forgotten about) Tonight we will be having butternut squash soup made with heaps of garlic, chili and ginger and finishing up the crumble with ice cream for pudding. Tomorrow will be a busy evening so its quick pizzas and salad on the menu and Friday will probably be a vegetable curry.

Leave a Reply

