Twelve Principles for twelve months – April – Integrate rather than segregate

IMG_0935

This month I will be reflecting on the Permaculture Principle ‘Integrate rather than segregate’. April is likely to be a busy month for me in the garden and the kids will be at home for two weeks enjoying their Easter holidays. So with that in mind, I am not going to try to do too much this month. I want to look more into Companion planting and Guilds and use these great techniques in my garden planning and planting.

I want to ensure that my Permaculture diploma designs are fully integrated into my life and relevant to the activities I am involved in and the projects I want to achieve. My next design will on the outdoor play-group ‘Muddy Boots’ that I am involved in running. This year I will be taking the reins and steering the project by myself. I am planning on using Permaculture to help me to set up and manage the group. I want the participants to assist with how the group operates, so I will be using Looby Macnamara’s book ‘People and Permaculture’ to help me facilitate this.

IMG_7889

My principle for March was ‘Catch and store energy’ I only managed to fulfil two of my four aims linked to this principle. Wood was chopped and stored for the winter and the water catchment systems implemented. I didn’t get a chance to look into solar or wind power for the cabin. I will come back to this at a later date. As for watching how my energy levels changed and where I wasted energy, well, I just didn’t have the energy to address this one!

Leave a Reply

