Diploma design for ‘Muddy Boots’ – Vision

IMG_1547

The first anchor point on the design web is VISION.

 ‘Allow yourself to dream and create goals …a time of unbounded dreaming, to express the abundances we want to create… focus on where we want to be and not have to think about how to get there’                                                                            L. Macnamara in People and Permaculture  2012

I had a day to myself recently at our cabin in the woods and spent some time thinking about how I would like Muddy Boots to be. The brainstorm below shows some of my initial thoughts I used this process like a Client interview with myself.

IMG_1549

I found it really hard to go with the ‘unbounded dreaming’ thing and was rather caught up in the reality of what is actually achievable. But I have given it a go, starting from 7 main aims and trying to blow them up a little as shown below.

IMG_1550

I then used Six thinking hats design tool to address my thoughts from the client interview from different perspectives. I looked at Information, benefits, caution, creativity, emotion and process. I found this a very useful tool at it allowed me to express aspects of my thinking that I would probably not normally acknowledge. For example, ‘caution’ forces you to think of what could go wrong. It is useful to express these worries! This then leads naturally on to possible solutions or reassurances that your worries are unfounded. The ‘information’ prompt is also useful as it acts in much the same way as the ‘observation’ phase would if I was using OBREDIMET. This gives background to how the project is now and looks at what foundations are already in place to be built upon.

IMG_1541

 

Leave a Reply

