Small and slow

To create change in our lives, we need to implement that change in a way that is sustainable. We are all creatures of habit, good habits take time to establish and bad habits can be hard to break. So any changes you attempt should be taken slowly, step by step in order to give yourself time to adjust to the new ways and make them a long-term part of your life.

A crash diet may help you shed a few pounds quickly, but as I am sure most of us have found out to our cost, the weight soon creeps back on plus a little extra for your trouble! Likewise with exercise, a new craze may keep your attention for a brief while, but unless you can truly embed a new  routine into your life, it soon falls by the wayside.

So with the Permaculture Principle of ‘Use small and slow solutions’ in mind I have embarked on a number of changes this month.

1. Food I have signed up for a community coaching nutrition and lifestyle coaching 6 month programme. I have wanted to do something like this for a long time but always found it to expensive one-to-one. So this programme is great for me, as its 40 women sharing one coach and communicating over Facebook to support each other. I only started this on Monday, but am eating lots more whole foods and feeling good! I liked the fact that the course runs over 6 months and you can spend as much or little time on it as you see fit. I think I will be making some positive changes to my diet and those of my family over the rest of this year.

IMG_2082Green juice ingredients

IMG_2084Tasty juice

IMG_2085Last nights dinner. Mummy and baby portions.

2. Clearing the clutter. As I have mentioned many times, such as in the post bookmarked below, the constant tidal wave of stuff that clogs up my house and my brain really does get me down.

https://nurturegreen.wordpress.com/2013/12/10/voluntary-simplicity/

So to try to tackle this ongoing issue I have been going small and slow with my clear outs. My aim is to clear three places per week. By places I mean a single drawer, cupboard, toy box or shelf. I am trying to fill a bag from each of those places with items to be donated to charity, handed onto friends, recycled or as a last resort put into the rubbish bin. I have found it quite liberating. I have a long way to go yet, but as my house gets emptier, I think I will get happier and more relaxed.

3. Exercise My husband has recently turned into a bit of an exercise junkie. Its weird. We have been together for 16 years and he has never been in the least bit sporty before. Now he is running 9 marathons this year raising money for charity. I am very proud of him and have been inspired to join his in his morning exercises. (No way am I going running with him!) We are doing a few 30 day challenges this month. Each morning we do a number of sit ups, crunches, squats, the plank and leg raises. The number of repetitions increases by a few each day. I have been pleased to see myself improve already. As a rather unfit person, I am now doing 130 squats and a 90 second plank – amazing! To be honest I am not sure I will be able to keep pace with the challenge for the full 30 days but if not I will set my own challenges and keep on trying to improve a little each day.

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Small and slow

  1. Great post! A few years ago I started working with a nutrition coach and trainer and lost 35 pounds in 2 months. It’s crazy what a little tweaking in your diet will do—learning what’s good for you and what’s not. Plus, how important it is to pick a healthy lifestyle vs. a quick fix.

    • Hi Thanks for visiting, yes I am really excited to get started on the process and feeling very ready for change! Well done on your weight loss, that is amazing. x

Leave a Reply

