Adventures in whole foods – Making my own milk

No I have not brought a cow.

No I am not banging on about the wonders of breast-feeding yet again

I have discovered how to make Almond milk!

For the last six months or so we have switched from cow’s milk to almond milk. My son has eczema and dairy in all forms seems to make his skin far worse. So I decided to cut out dairy from his diet and mine. I am breast-feeding him still and if I ate a lot of dairy products, It did seem to have an effect (OK so I did mention breast-feeding just a tiny bit)

We have been buying Almond milk and noticed that the almond content seemed incredibly low at just 2% This led me to wonder about how this type of milk was made and if it was possibly to do it myself. In a lucky piece of timing, the tutor on my health and nutrition course sent us a video last week of herself making a green smoothie that included her making her own almond milk-perfect! So this morning I gave it a go and I am happy to report that it is quick, easy, cheaper than buying the cartons and very very tasty.

IMG_2658Step 1. Buy some whole almonds

IMG_2659Step 2. Soak your almonds overnight in plenty of cold water

IMG_2660Step 3. The next morning, rinse them carefully. You need roughly 1 cup of soaked almonds to 3 cups of cold water.

IMG_2661Step 4. Put the almonds and water into your blender. Blend on high for a few minutes.

IMG_2663Step 5. Pour the milk into a sieve lined with a muslin. You can buy special nut milk bags  but I found this worked just as well as didn’t cost me any money- which is always good!

IMG_2665Step 6. Pour the milk into a glass container through a funnel. I am using re-purposed lemonade bottles. Store the milk in your fridge, I think it is ok to keep for 3 or 4 days, but it is so tasty I don’t think it will last that long.

IMG_2664Step 6. The almond pulp can be used for baking, composted or I may feed mine to the chickens.

Step 7. Enjoy in your cups of tea, poured over cereals or in a hot chocolate!

3 thoughts on “Adventures in whole foods – Making my own milk

Leave a Reply

