Calendula flowers

Our garden is bursting with Calendula at the moment. I love these flowers, all the different hues and the subtlety of the different petals forms really appeal to me. The bees love them and they are such a useful plant. I told the kids at gardening club that they could eat the petals in salads, they looked at me in disbelief, then proceeded to spent the rest of the session stuffing flowers into their mouths whenever the teacher’s back was turned!

I even like this plant when the flowers are going over and they start to look a little disheveled. They produce so much seed, so its a plant you will only have to buy once and it will pop up in your garden for years to come.

IMG_2601 IMG_2602 IMG_2603 IMG_2606 IMG_2179

I collected some petals yesterday and they are drying out now ready to use for calendula oil in a few weeks. What do you use Calendula for? I’d love to try out some new ideas.

IMG_2713 IMG_2712 IMG_2702 IMG_2701 IMG_2700 IMG_2711 IMG_2708 IMG_2709 IMG_2710

3 thoughts on “Calendula flowers

  1. I love calendula too (in case you couldn’t tell from my profile photo!). I sprinkle the petals on salads to brighten them up a bit, chuck them in a pot with some black tea or put them in home made moisturiser. I’ve heard people use them for cake decorating too but I haven’t tried it yet. Maybe I should give it a go.

      • I think you can use coconut oil, I just use rapeseed oil though. That, beeswax and green tea. I’ve got a recipe somewhere, I’ll dig it out for you. It’s really easy to make.

Leave a Reply

