My garden in July

IMG_3229

I am a little late with this month’s garden update as we have been away on our hols. We spent a week staying on an Organic farm in Pembrokeshire, Wales. It was a great break. The sun shone (some of the time) and we ate well, walked lots, saw family, visited an island and swam in the sea. We returned to an overgrown garden heaving with produce and weeds popping up everywhere. I have been picking, cooking and eating all week and hacking back some of the exuberant vegetation that was threatening to takeover!

Harvesting Since my June post we have harvested the following crops; black, red and white currants, strawberries and wild strawberries, yellow and red raspberries, gooseberries, cherries, peas, mange tout, spinach, broad beans, beetroot plus its stalks and leaves, spring onion and welsh onions, blueberries, new potatoes and shallot stalks.

Planting I have been planting out a few more bits; butternut squash plants, cutting celery seedlings and kale plants. I have been clearing some spent plants such as the broad beans, peas and potatoes to make space for these.

Thinking The garden has run away from me. One minute I felt like I was almost on-top of things, then it only took a week away to lose control! While we were away the peas and sweet peas went over, the ‘meadow’ area turned into a nettle-filled wilderness and the lettuces ran to seed. I am ok about all this thought, its part of the great cycle of life! I am enjoying the summer hols a lot but only have limited time to garden as I need to devote most of my time to the children. The poly-culture areas are still working well, they look beautiful and are productive. I am trying to get a few more autumn/winter crops in over the next few weeks to attempt to extend the season somewhat.

Feeling I am feeling proud of the produce that the garden is providing us, although I would need heaps more space if this produce was to put a real dent into our weekly fruit and veg shopping bills. The two square areas in the mid part of the garden that I had envisaged as keyhole beds were a dead loss this year really. They are difficult to access, greatly shaded by overhanging trees and full of weeds. I need to re-think these areas in my plan for next year. We use the garden everyday, for the majority of the day. So its full of kids bikes, scooters, hoses, cushions, dens, shoes, drinks and books! I love it.

IMG_3219

IMG_3222

IMG_3223

IMG_3226

IMG_3260 IMG_3241 IMG_3255 IMG_3249 IMG_3233 IMG_3247 IMG_3232 IMG_3243IMG_3227IMG_3218

 

Weather stats

Thursday 24th July 2014

Another bright and sunny day with light warm breezes

Sun rise 05.12  Sunset 21.09

Max Temp 26  Min temp 15

One thought on “My garden in July

Leave a Reply

