Diploma design for Muddy Boots – Momentum

Consider how to keep going…How am I going to maintain, build, increase momentum? What support might I need to keep on moving towards my vision?                                                                                               L. Macnamara People and Permaculture 2012

IMG_8263

I looked at the ‘Helps and Limits’ to my momentum in running the Muddy Boots playgroup

IMG_4585

The flow diagram/brainstorm above shows my thoughts. So, to summarise the points noted above, I have decided to do a PNI analysis (Positive, negative, interesting)

POSITIVE EFFECT ON MOMENTUM

Good weather

Regular feedback from participants

New topics, new material and new ideas explored

Inspiration from books, courses, films, conversations and visits

Appreciation from other people

Enjoyment for myself

Taking Photographs of sessions and using these on FB or blog

Looking to the future and seeing what the experiences gained in planning Muddy Boots could lead me towards for a future career path.

NEGATIVE EFFECT ON MOMENTUM (AND WHAT I COULD DO TO CHANGE IT)

Bad weather – ensure people come dressed suitably. Use location with some inside space. Provide wellies and waterproof clothing. Buy gazebos with sides? Cancel in bad weather? Do not run through the winter and early spring?

Feeling uncomfortable and watched at the community allotment – Discuss my worries with Sue. Contact allotments for all officer to look into alternative sites? Begin looking into other types of locations instead/as well as using the comm allotment?

Lots of work for me with no financial rewards. Think about putting up the cost per person? Make Muddy Boots into a business for myself? Get Forest Schools training? Consider the other rewards I get from running the group?

Feeling so busy during the sessions, having to wear too many hats simultaneously. Mum, leader, photographer, friend, tea maker, caretaker etc. delegate more? Take on a student or other volunteer to support me? Ask for help more?

Managing all three of my children and being in charge of sessions. – This will get easier now that C is in full-time school. I will be down to one child of my own for most sessions.

INTERESTING EFFECT ON MOMENTUM

Having new people flowing in and out of the group brings with it a new energy and feel to the group, however the constant flows of new starters does restrict the depth of learning and I have to go over old ground quite often. Maybe I should utilise a sign up system in the future or work in 6 weeks blocks that are pre paid.

Not knowing how many people will be attending from week to week can be tricky. It makes planning quantities of materials very difficult. See above for ideas about overcoming this issue next season.

My mood and how much help I get each session very much affects how I feel about the group. I have been keeping a reflections diary to record this. (More on this when I reach the ‘Reflection’ anchor point)

 

 

3 thoughts on “Diploma design for Muddy Boots – Momentum

Leave a Reply

