Workshop. Forest gardens for Forest schools practitioners.

A couple of weeks ago I was lucky enough to be included on a course that a friend of mine was running in Derbyshire. Like me, Sarah Spencer is studying for her Diploma in Applied Permaculture design. Sarah works at her local primary school and has designed and created a forest garden there. She lives on a nine acre smallholding and has another, more established Forest garden at her home. The one day course spanned both of these locations and was for teachers of Forest Schools, to show them how they could integrate Forest gardens into their teaching.

Sarah knows about my interest in Forest Schools and outdoor education, so she invited me to come along to the day. My role was to photograph the event, scribe for her when needed and provide feedback to be used in her diploma reflections. I certainly had a busy day fulfilling all of these roles as well as participating in the activities. I learn so much, met lots of interesting people and by the end of the day I felt even more certain that this is the direction in which I want my career to be heading.

Below are some images from the day.

sarah talksarah talkingleaf bashing mobiles stickman den obredimet on the grass plant dyes sarah house autumn walking legs barefootwalk garden rules sarahs garden sarahs house

One thought on “Workshop. Forest gardens for Forest schools practitioners.

  1. My soil is a bit of a nightmare but I am determined to establish what I can of a forest garden. It’s therefore so interesting to see what other people are doing.

Leave a Reply

