Diploma design for Muddy Boots – Pause

Incorporate time for rest and rejuvenation… How can I recharge my batteries? How can I make times of rest and quiet a built-in part of my design? How can I rejuvenate myself?                                                                L. Macnamara People and Permaculture 2012

teasel

 

Pauses are important. Quiet spaces in between all the hectic activity of everyday life allow space for reflection, relaxation and appreciation. Without the pause of sleep that we require for a healthy life, we would not be able to function during the day. Constant chatter can become an annoyance but a good conversation after a day spent alone is a real gift. So I think it is the contrast of light and dark, company and alone-time, noise and peace that is important. We all need to strike a balance in our lives.

I need to carve out times of peace and pause in my life. My three children are wonderful but all-encompassing. My family life is full, noisy, messy and hectic from the moment they wake up until the last one falls asleep. I am often trying to breast feed, help with homework, find a missing shoe and watch a dance routine simultaneously while cooking dinner and working on the computer. Phew!

I try very hard to find moments of pause in my life. Moments that I used to take for granted pre-children are now precious and closely guarded. Five minutes with the paper, a quiet cup of tea, a bath all to myself – these are my simple pleasure. I go to bed early and read my book in a silent room. I grab a moment in the garden on my own whenever I can. I have recently started running. I go out for a while and run along the canal path on my own listening to the wind in my ears and thinking of nothing. It is blissful to me.

To rejuvenate myself and ease my Diploma path I have decided to gift myself a treat at significant points along the way. When a design write-up is completed or a difficult idea battled with, I will factor in a reward. This could be to buy an inspiring book, to schedule myself onto a course, to plan a visit to a garden or to take a day off and follow my interests without any diploma related agenda! I will also give myself some smaller rewards, a cuppa once a blog post is completed, a squre of chocolate or lunch with a friend. I have always worked well with delayed gratification. I love Christmas Eve far more than Christmas Day. I like to get all my tasks completed and sit back feeling excited for what is to come.  So the promise of a reward is as good for me as the actuality of it!

I will aim to design more moments of pause into Muddy Boots sessions. I have often thought that I cram too much into the sessions and have to drag the kids away from the sandpit or mud pie that is happily occupying them. Time and effort is spent in encouraging them to take part in an activity when they would be perfectly happy just staying with the sand and mud. I am mindful of providing good value for the parents as well as the kids you see. But yes, pause is important too and I will try to sit back, observe more and just ‘let it be’

Leave a Reply

