Diploma design for Muddy Boots – Overview sheet and final design

I have created a overview sheet today listing the stages of the design web that I followed, plus my objectives, activity, timescales and design tools used at each stage. This has been a useful exercise and I think I will use this pattern in future design projects for both planning and reflection.

IMG_4692

I also thought it was worth re-posting my final design for Muddy Boots as it was rather buried way back in my blog in an update for the ‘Action’ anchor point. The image of the tree references both the Action Learning Cycle and the Design Web.

It also uses the cycle of the year to divide up the activity required to run the group. Each season flaps open (see second image) to reveal a list of activity to be completed. I wanted my design to be playful and child-like, connected to nature and deeply rooted in the cycle of the year,  reflecting how I want the whole Muddy Boots experience to feel. The image of a tree with opening flaps like a children’s book sums this up well I feel.

I feel relatively happy with it and very relieved to have finally reached this point! I am presenting my design at the PDC in 10 days time and am looking forward to receiving feedback on the design and the whole design process.

IMG_4693IMG_4694

A close up of each season/ stage in turn

Autumn – Appreciation, Reflection, Pauseimg_5235img_5236

Winter – Vision, Helps, Limitsimg_5237img_5238

Spring – Patterns, Ideas, Principlesimg_5239img_5240

Summer – Integration, Action, Momentumimg_5241img_5242

To make this design work for me on a practical level I then created this table for each stage of planning and activity. It allows me to clearly see each task and work through them and tick off once I’ve completed it. Boring but effective. The sheets go into the front of my planning folder and are worked through.

 

SEASON

 

AUTUMN
PATTERN

 

OBSERVE
DETAILS

 

APPRECIATION, REFLECTION, PAUSE
ACTIVITIES

 

  Deadline Done Notes?
Run the final few sessions      
Run a seasonal celebration event      
Produce a photobook of the year      
Do final evaluations with the participants      
Professional reflections on venue, sessions, timings, finances, support, participation etc      
Personal reflections on learning for me      
Plan initial tweaks for next season/year – site changes, paperwork changes, price increase, timings etc      
Begin planning for any planned changes for next year      
Show appreciation to venue, helpers, supporters      
Schedule in and carry out pause and reward time for myself.      
 

SEASON

 

WINTER
PATTERN

 

THINK
DETAILS

 

VISION, HELPS, LIMITS
ACTIVITIES

 

  Deadline Done Notes?
Preparation of self, rest, rejuvenate and re-inspire      
Research other similar groups to make links and gather ideas      
Revisit and reflect on last seasons reflections      
Set the intentions, vision and aims for the group      
Begin looking into practical considerations

–       Who are activities aimed at?

–       What will the pattern of sessions be?

–       When will the group meet, dates and times

–       Where will the group meet? Finalise venues and complete any paperwork/insurance/ H&S requirements of the venue

     
Set up all paperwork systems

–       Booking forms

–       Registers

–       Financial record keeping

–       Permissions

     
Make decisions around money, venue fees?, insurance fees? Weekly budget for materials? Equipment purchase costs? Book purchase costs? Costs to participants?      
Do projected yearly takings, set myself targets for income and exenditure      
Set myself an hourly/ weekly/ monthly wage      
How will I take payment from participants? Do I need to set up bank transfers, paypal, etc? Do I need change for a weekly float?      
Check and update email mailing lists      
Can I add an unsubscribe button to mailing list mailouts?      
Make decisions about time – how long will sessions be? How long will I spend planning, prepping etc      
Plan my working week and set working hours, how can I help myself stick to this?    
 

SEASON

 

SPRING
PATTERN

 

DESIGN
DETAILS

 

PATTERNS, IDEAS, PRINCIPLES
ACTIVITIES

 

  Deadline Done Notes?
Finalise all practical considerations      
Do Publicity and promotion – Current list/ waiting list/ then further promo as required

–       Newsletter

–       Emails

–       Fabcebook

–       Website

–       Instagram

–       Posters and flyers locally

–       Local press

–       Local schools/playgroups as relevant

     
Set up all systems required for taking bookings and payments      
Take bookings      
Design from pattern to detail- session planning

– Design term plans

– Sessions plans

     
Check current stock levels for resourses and equipment, what needs replacing, buying, borrowing etc      
Check first aid kit      
Plan what resourses, equipment and materials will be required and make these purchases      
Who will be supporting me? What do I need to do for them? Book them for dates required, brainstorming meetings, insurance? DBS?      
Is insurance in place?, when does it need updating?      
Do all risk assessments and any outstanding policy and procedure work required.      
Ensure all paperwork required is sent to the venues      
Site prep days      
Weekly prep      
Begin running sessions      
Documentation/ reflection/ promotion weekly      
     

 

 

SEASON

 

SUMMER
PATTERN

 

DO
DETAILS

 

INTERGRATION, ACTION, MOMENTUM
ACTIVITIES

 

  Deadline Done Notes?
Plan my weekly and daily tasks carefully keeping clarity      
Run the sessions      
Plan sessions that require further work      
Keep up with all weekly paperwork      
Keep careful financial records      
Purchase required weekly resources and record finances      
Photographic documentation every session, edit and upload to FB, website, instagram regularly      
Keep in touch with all interested parties      
Keep the waiting list updated      
Keep a reflective journal after each session if relevant      
Do mid term evaluations and make any required tweaks      
Support and appreciate people providing help      
Carry out venue maintainance as required      
Keep track of stock levels and purchase as required.      
Pay myself an hourly/ daily or weekly wage      
       
       
       
       

 

Leave a Reply

