The Summer Solstice

One of my aims for this year is to learn more about the special days of the year following the Pagan calendar. I have always been interested in the changing of the seasons and the solstice, but I want to learn more. I plan to post on each special day this year with a reflection on what is happening in my garden and what I am up to.

I appreciate that I am a few days late with this post, life has been a bit like that lately, sorry! Today’s post is about the Summer Solstice which was June 21st.

IMG_7088

The Summer Solstice is the day of the year with the most hours of daylight and least hours of darkness. This day is thought of as the start of summer. Traditionally this is a magical time of year marked with lots of festivals and events. In my younger days we often used to stay up all night on the Solstice, watching the sunset, having a party all night then falling asleep after the sun rose in the early hours of the morning. One year we visited Glastonbury Tor and watched the sunrise from there along with lots of other festival goers and a cast of Druids. As the morning came we hopped into our beaten up old car and made our way to the Glastonbury festival to beat the crowds and bag a good camping spot. Arr those carefree days were so much fun, good times!

IMG_7067IMG_7073 IMG_7077IMG_7079

Noticing The light! It is light when I go to bed and light hours before I get up

Feeling Sore after running a full on 10 KM cross-country race at the weekend

Wishing That my bestie mate who is visiting from NZ could stay here forever

Eating Vegan goodies 90 % of the time and spicy paneer 10 %

Wondering If I can keep up the pace

Wearing Long dresses, floaty trousers and bare feet

Watching Orange is the new black season 3

Listening To our local heroes Kasabian (my daughter is their number one fan)

Drinking Home made elderflower cordial and fizzy water

Planning My first Forest School event this weekend then summer holiday activities!

IMG_7076IMG_7087 The roses have been amazing this June. IMG_7086 IMG_7084 Berries are forming, there will be less this year due to a hard prune over the winter. My middle child has taken to disappearing off down the garden and feasting on the ripe berries after school. I don’t think many will find their way into the house this year!

IMG_7083   IMG_7078 IMG_7080 IMG_7081  My neighbour and I made Elderflower cordial a few weeks ago, we need to make more!

IMG_7074 IMG_7072 IMG_7071 IMG_7070 IMG_7068 IMG_7089Fruits and flowers are coming on well, it’s looking like its going to be a good gardening year!

 

One thought on “The Summer Solstice

Leave a Reply

