Samhain

One of my aims for this year is to learn more about the special days of the year following the Pagan calendar. I have always been interested in the changing of the seasons and the solstice, but I want to learn more. I plan to post on each special day this year with a reflection on what is happening in my garden and what I am up to.

IMG_9635

Tomorrow is Samhain, also known as Halloween or All Hallows Eve. Samhain is a celebration of the end of the harvest and the start of the colder, darker part of the year.

Sunset on Samhain is the beginning of the Celtic New Year. The old year has passed, the harvest has been gathered, cattle and sheep have been brought in from the fields, and the leaves have fallen from the trees.The earth slowly begins to die around us. This is a good time for us to look at wrapping up the old and preparing for the new in our lives. Think about the things you did in the last twelve months. Have you left anything unresolved? If so, now is the time to wrap things up. Once you’ve gotten all that unfinished stuff cleared away, and out of your life, then you can begin looking towards the next year.  http://paganwiccan.about.com

IMG_9741

So with the aim of completing unfinished tasks at the for-front of my mind, here I am today catching up on my blog! This year my blog and permaculture diploma have taken rather a backseat in my life. I have been busy building my business ‘Muddy Boots’ and studying for my Forest School leader qualification. I am writing permaculture diploma designs about both of these activities, so hopefully these colder months will see lots more blog activity beginning again.

IMG_9731IMG_9733IMG_9735IMG_9736IMG_9738

Noticing how bare the trees are after two days of wind and rain

Feeling drained and tired after being ill yesterday with a sickness bug

Wishing that I could reach the end of my to do list

Eating a whole heap of pumpkin and squash while they are in season

Wondering if I can justify taking a midday nap to recuperate

Wearing for Halloween the kids are dressing up as a Gruffolo, a witch and a mummy

Watching The walking dead – so very very scary!

Listening to the rain falling

Drinking fizzy water with added probiotic to help the fight going on in my tummy

Planning a winter of working hard indoor and out

IMG_9745Our Cat Sol went missing for a week but he is home how and living the life of Riley.

IMG_9739IMG_9746IMG_9730I am border-line obsessed with Autumn leaves. I am that freaky woman shoving leaves into her handbag on the school run. They are just so pretty!

 

 

3 thoughts on “Samhain

Leave a Reply

