Forest School skills day

This weekend I attended a Forest school skills development day in a local woodland. I have been to a few of these days before and always loved them. They are a great chance to spend a day in the woods, playing with new ideas, trying out unfamiliar tools and cooking lunch on a campfire. I learnt a lot from the other practitioners and have honed my skills at lighting Kelly Kettles in the pouring rain! The photos show a selection of the things that we got up to.

My Forest school sessions start after the Easter holidays. I will doing two weekly sessions for pre-school kids and their parents and a monthly saturday session for primary aged children. I am also doing two weekly allotment playgroup sessions and teaching photography every monday, so its going to be a busy few months leading up to the summer break! I can’t wait to get started. The build up is always hard, much of the work is front loaded, getting kit and sites sorted, advertising and administrating bookings and preparing my sessions. I enjoy every stage, but actually leading sessions is what I like best and its almost time now!

IMG_9517

Emergency shelter out of a tarp

IMG_9514

3 legged stool

IMG_9512

Stick pictures frame, I thought these could be good for throwing a ball through too

IMG_9510

rope spiders web

IMG_9509

low balance beam

IMG_9506

base camp set up to cook in

IMG_9507

Wild garlic bread

IMG_9508

Shave horse

IMG_9516

Hook

IMG_9515

Gypsy rose

IMG_9505

Gear shelter

IMG_9532

High shelter

One thought on “Forest School skills day

Leave a Reply

