Influences June 2015-September 2016

When I started my permaculture diploma, I intended to write-up an ‘Influences’ post every six month. I managed it for a while, but then real life got in the way and I have been slacking. So I have resolved to do a brief round-up today of the major influences on my permaculture journey over the last 15 months.

Training and learning

I completed my Level 3 Forest School leader training in early 2016 and I am now fully qualified and running my own Forest School. I lead 2 or 3 session each week currently and hope to build up the business in years to come.

I attended 3 Forest School skills training days in addition to my level 3 course.

I attended a Forest Schools Derbyshire conference in late 2015

I attended the national Diploma gathering for permaculture diploma students in spring 2016

I attended a day-long essential oils introduction workshop in summer 2016

I completed my monthly blog write-ups about Bill Mollison’s principles throughout 2015

I completed my garden reflections based on the pagan calendar throughout 2015

I volunteered at another forest school in october 2015 and learnt lots

Events

I helped out at the PDC in Leicester on various sessions during 2015

I attended a family samba drumming workshop at Soft Touch arts and took part in a parade.

I took part in a 10 KM Iron run event

The South Leicester food group that I set up continues to meet regularly and bulk buy foods together.

I am factoring in lots more time spent alone with my husband. This year we have been to gigs, the theatre and even has a weekend away in London together staying on a barge.

I am attending 2 yoga classes per week, using the gym and still running occasionally.

Books

I have read and been influenced by far too many books to list here over the last 15 months! My collection of children’s books about nature, food growing, the seasons, woods and allotments continues to grow with each passing season.

Work

Until July 2016 I had been teaching photography and art to a teenager on the autistic spectrum. We worked together to help her achieve her Bronze arts award. This work is currently paused while she transitions back to mainstream school, but I may take it up again soon with another student.

My Muddy Boots business is going very well. I am leading 8 sessions per month at the allotment and up to 10 sessions per month of Forest School. Most of my sessions are fully booked with a waiting list. Muddy Boots now operates as a business and makes me a modest income.

IMG_7196

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

