Pathway mini evaluation

Now that I’ve passed my IPA and reached the halfway point in my diploma design, I thought it would be useful to look back at the major permaculture related activity that I was involved in and to do a mini evaluation of each year.

2012

  • Did my PDC (Permaculture design certificate)
  • Designed and implemented the design for the Diploma design 1 –  Community allotment education space
  • Began leading Muddy Boots allotment playgroup with my sister who was employed there at the time my TCV
  • Taught basic gardening skills for adults course at a local allotment
  • Began planning my garden design
  • Pregnant with my son
  • POSITIVE – Doing the PDC was excellent. Setting up the community allotment education space was a fantastic opportunity and I didn’t realise so at the time, but it set me onto a new career path. I was very happy to be expected another baby. I enjoyed teaching gardening to adults. 
  • NEGATIVE – Not very negatives this year really, it was an amazingly exciting year for me and the start of lots of new cycles. 
  • INTERESTING – My energy levels and physical capabilities were restricted towards the end of the year as I was as pregnant. I found this quite hard to accept as i was full of ideas that I was excited to try out. 

2013

  • My son was born in February 2013
  • Signed up for the Diploma in late 2013
  • Came up with initial ideas for 10 designs and did some preparatory work
  • Started this blog
  • Some work began on my garden design – re-structuring where the garden beds were located and taking down the polytunnel etc.
  • Worked at Muddy Boots allotment playgroup with my sister.
  • POSITIVE – New baby! Blog started. I still managed to do some Muddy Boots work albeit with baby Ren strapped to my chest. Started the diploma. 
  • NEGATIVE – Lack of time and energy to do much permaculture work this year. 
  • INTERESTING – New networks to explore within the Permaculture work and with a new baby. 

2014

  • Began my ’12 principles for 12 months’ blog post series by looking at Holmgrens principles.
  • Assisted on a PDC
  • Monthly garden updates on the blog – photos, stats, foods harvested etc
  • Started work on Diploma design 2 – Food from my garden. 
  • Began planning a veg box share scheme – ‘homegrown harvest’ with a few veg growing neighbours.
  • Considered doing a design for a friends garden
  • Took on Muddy Boots as my own business when my sister’s role with TCV ended and all funding for the group stopped. 1 session every 2 weeks
  • Started work on Diploma design 3 – Muddy Boots allotment playgroup. 
  • Started work on a design to retro-fit the cabin in a local woodland that we had a part share in.
  • Attended the Permaculture convergence
  • Stared work on Diploma design 4 – My health and wellbeing
  • POSITIVE Probably my most productive year to date with Diploma work. I finally had time set aside each week to work on it. I enjoyed being involved in the PDC. I learnt lots by writing my blog. The designs 2,3,4 that I started this year went on to be useful and successful. 
  • NEGATIVE – I started and abandoned lots of designs this year, my friends garden, the cabin and homegrown harvest. Design write ups took a very long time and felt quite laborious. 
  • INTERESTING -Felt like I’d wasted time by deciding not to pursue various design ideas, but was probably a good learning experience and taught me to focus in on the own life for the diploma. 

2015

  • Pathway planning
  • Assisted on a PDC
  • Continued my ’12 principles for 12 months’ blog post series by looking at Mollison’s principles.
  • Garden updates continued but this year do at dates in the pagan calendar – ie Llamas, summer solstice etc
  • Considered doing a design for my front garden
  • Considered doing a design for my husbands business – Soft touch for their new building’s front garden
  • Continued to lead Muddy Boots allotment playgroup – changed to 1 session each week
  • Began updating and tweaking my garden design
  • Lots of work on Health and wellbeing design
  • Began work on Diploma design 6 – South Leicester food group 
  • Forest school leader training
  • Considered writing a design about how I used permaculture to help my achieve my Forest school leadership.
  • Began leading Forest school sessions in a local woodland
  • POSITIVE – I loved doing my Forest school training. Muddy Boots grew from strength to strength. I began teaching Forest school. I did some quick designs rather than the very long drawn out ones I’d previous completed. 
  • NEGATIVE – Lack of time for permaculture diploma work this year and I had to postpone all my meetings with my tutor. 
  • INTERESTING – Its been a really interesting journey to see how my permaculture and Forest school work have become so inter linked. 

2016

  • Pathway planning and re-accessed if/how to continue with the diploma
  • Wrote up my Pathway design Diploma design 5 – Pathway
  • Attended Diploma gathering
  • Came up with my own 12 principles
  • Health and wellbeing design
  • Began work on design and implementation for Diploma design 7- Muddy Boots garden re-design
  • Continued to lead Muddy Boots allotment playgroup – changed to 2 sessions each week
  • Began leading weekly pre-school Forest school sessions and monthly primary aged FS sessions – branded under Muddy Boots.
  • Started offering Forest school parties and led my first one in December.
  • Began work on Diploma design 8 – My Forest school business 
  • POSITIVE – Design 7 was very helpful in getting me through the design process more quickly and being a real boost to where I hold MB sessions. MB growing really well and the forest school felt more established and integrated as an equal part of the business.  
  • NEGATIVE – I started the year feeling very down on my diploma and unsure whether to continue or not. 
  • INTERESTING – My mood changed by the end of the year about the dipoma and I began to see a why through to the end. 

 

2017

  • Pathway planning and visioning the remainder of the diploma pathway
  • Prepared for my IPA
  • Passed my IPA
  • lots more to follow as the year progresses I hope!

 

Leave a Reply

